Delta County is governed by a three-member Board of County Commissioners (BOCC). The chairman of the BOCC is elected annually by the Board. The Commissioners must reside in the district he/she represents, and they are elected at large.

Mike Lane

Mike Lane

District No. 1 Commissioner
(Unincorporated areas of Delta)
(970) 874-2111

Email Mike Lane

Term expires January 2027
Don Suppes

Don Suppes

District No. 2 Commissioner
(Surface Creek area and unincorporated areas of Cedaredge)
 (970) 874-2112

Email Don Suppes

Term expires January 2025
Wendell Koontz

Wendell Koontz

District No. 3 Commissioner
(North Fork area and unincorporated areas of Crawford, Hotchkiss, and Paonia)
 (970) 874-2113

Email Wendell Koontz

Term expires January 2025


The Commissioner's salaries are set by state law based on the county's population.


Four years, staggered terms per Colorado law. Commissioners are limited to two four-year terms of office.


The Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) is the governing board of Delta County.  The BOCC has administrative and policy-making authority. The Commissioners serve as the County Board of Equalization and the Delta County Board of Human Services. The BOCC has the power to levy taxes, make appropriations, authorize bonds, appoint citizens to boards, authorize licenses, acquire and dispose of property and enter into cooperative agreements with other governmental agencies. The BOCC is also responsible for the County budget, construction, and management of roads within the County road system and County owned and operated airports and landfills.

Planning Matters

The BOCC takes final action on recommendations by the Planning Commission.

Roads and Bridges

The BOCC is responsible for the maintenance and construction of roads and bridges. The respective Road and Bridge Districts are responsible for the road and bridge work within the County. The County is divided into three geographic road districts similar to the Commissioner districts.  Each road district has an appointed road foreman who oversees the maintenance and construction of roads and bridges within the district.


Commissioners' regular meetings are scheduled for the first and third Tuesday of each month from 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. at the Delta County Administration Building, 560 Dodge Street, Delta, Colorado 81416.  Constituent time is scheduled at 8:30 a.m. each regular meeting day, and BOCC meetings are open to the public. Watch past meetings on the Delta County YouTube channel

Public Information Specialist

Please contact the Public Information Specialist, Lindsay Mitchell, at or 970-874-3583 for meeting schedules, appointments with the commissioners, and media requests. 


Map of Districts
Commissioners' Meeting Agendas and Minutes