General Land Office Plats

Welcome to the General Land Office Plats web page for Delta County, a joint effort by the Delta County Assessor and Delta County Clerk to make the original General Land Office (GLO) plats from the Delta County archives available on line. The images available here were scanned from the original GLO plats on file with Delta County, dating from the county’s inception in 1883. Since these plats are from Delta County records, they also may contain notations of original homestead entries or other information added by county personnel over the years. Please note that scans of the original GLO plats and field notes may be accessed at the Bureau of Land Management’s document search site. However, the scans found there will not contain the notes added on the plats archived here in the County.

We hope that you will find these plats useful. They are the base surveys upon which most subsequent land records are based and they also provide an interesting look at the history of our county.

To find a scan for a particular location, you will have to know the Township and Range from the Public Land Survey System that you are looking for. The file name of the Adobe Acrobat file is indexed by the Township and Range. For example, if you are searching for the GLO Plat for Township 12 South, Range 93 West of the 6th Principal Meridian, the file name would be “T12SR93WPG8.pdf”. The last numbers in the file name indicate either the Delta County assigned page number of the plat or other supplemental information. Please note that there may be multiple plats (either original or supplemental) for any given Township or area of Township.

Also, please note that Delta County shares the unique distinction with Mesa County of having all three Principal Meridians present in the state of Colorado—the 6th Principal Meridian, the New Mexico Principal Meridian, and the Ute Principal Meridian—also to be found within the County. (A BLM map of the Principal Meridians in Colorado is available online.) All Townships in Delta County beginning with 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, or 15 (e.g., “Township 13” or “T13”) are in the 6th Principal Meridian; All Townships beginning with 51 are in the New Mexico Principal Meridian; and all Townships beginning with 3 or 4 are in the Ute Principal Meridian.

Please feel free to contact our offices if you have any questions concerning the plats or how to access them.

Jolene George
Delta County Assessor

Teri Stephenson
Delta County Clerk