Emergency Telephone Service Authority

Delta County Emergency Telephone Service Authority

Pursuant to Delta County Resolution 90-R-25 which was enacted on August 6, 1990, the Delta County Board of County Commissioners has been designated by Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) with the below listed jurisdictions to act as the Emergency Telephone Service Authority (ETSA) for Delta County and to direct 911 functions related to the Delta County Communications Center. 

Agencies part of the IGA designating the Delta County Board of Commissioners to act as the Emergency Telephone Service Authority (ETSA):  

  • City of Delta
  • Town of Cedaredge
  • Town of Paonia
  • Town of Crawford
  • Town of Hotchkiss
  • Town of Orchard City
  • North Fork Ambulance Association (now North Fork Ambulance Health Service District),
  • Delta County Fire Protection Districts 1 through 5 (Delta, Paonia, Cedaredge, Hotchkiss and Crawford)
  • Delta County Memorial Hospital District (now Delta Health)
  • Delta County Ambulance District (formerly Cedaredge and Delta Ambulance services separately) 

The Board of County Commissioners serve as the ETSA for Delta County and the 911 service are of the Delta County Communications center  which is a division within the Delta County Sheriff's Office.  The ETSA is empowered with operation of the 911 emergency telephone service for the following municipalities, areas and telephone exchanges: 

970874 and 399City of Delta and surrounding area 
970872Town of Hotchkiss,  Lazear, and surrounding areas
970856Town of Cedaredge and surrounding areas including Grand Mesa 
970835Town of Orchard City - Austin, Eckert and Cory and surrounding areas
970527Town of Paonia, Bowie area and surrounding areas
970921Town of Crawford and surrounding areas including Maher in Montrose County
970929Town of Somerset and surrounding areas including McClure Pass/Muddy Creek/CR-12 areas 

Delta County 911 PSAP Boundary Map

The Delta County ETSA also includes wireless communications within Delta County and portions of eastern Montrose County and Western Gunnison counties as shown on our Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) boundary map as pictured above.  The authority is authorized to collect an emergency telephone service charge for all landline, wireless and VoIP telephones within our service area. 

2022 Fiscal Year E911 Emergency Telephone Rates for Delta County:

$1.00 per landlines, wireless (cell) and VoIP Telephones - fee is assessed per phone per month 

2023 Fiscal Year E911 Emergency Telephone Rates for Delta County:

The Delta County Board of County Commissioners acting as the Delta County Emergency Telephone Service Authority voted on November 1, 2022 to pass resolution 2022-R-32 to increase the 9-1-1 Emergency Telephone Charge for the Delta County Communications Center PSAP boundary as indicated on the service map above. 

EFFECTIVE FEBRUARY 1, 2023, the 9-1-1 Emergency Telephone charge will increase from $1.00 to the 2023 Colorado Public Utilities Commission Threshold amount of $1.97 per month per line on all wireline, wireless and interconnected VoIP telephone services. The rate for wireless prepaid devices will increase to the Colorado PUC rate of $1.71 per transaction. 

9-1-1 Service Provider Remittance Requirements:

Telephone service providers servicing customers in Delta County must submit the 9-1-1 service fees to Delta County via the information below. If you have questions you can contact Delta County Emergency Management at 970-874-2004. 

911 remittance address:

Delta County Sheriff E911
PO Box 172
Delta, CO 81416

Make Checks Payable to:  DELTA COUNTY
Note: Memo Field on check must state: E911 Remittance. 

Allowable Vendor Service Fee: 2% pursuant to C.R.S. 29-11-103(6)

Filing Frequency and Deadlines: Pursuant to C.R.S. 29-11-103(5), a 911 service provider must remit fees to Delta County on a monthly basis UNLESS the governing body establishes a payment schedule via resolution that differs from this section.  Pursuant to Delta County Resolution 2022-R-32, the Delta County Board of County Commissioners established the following payment remittance schedule for E911 fees, effective February 1, 2023.

If fees total $20 or less per month, the payment is due annually by December 30th; if fees total $21-$299 per month, payment is due quarterly; and if fees total $300 or more per month, payment is due monthly.  Payment shall be made to Delta County via check no later than the last day of the month following the close of the preceding month/period.  

Service suppliers must also submit a report with each payment that details the total number of phone lines payment is remitted for and any fees, up to two percent of remittance, that was withdrawn, as allowed by C.R.S. 29-11-103(6).